Treadmill, anyone?

Posted: May 17, 2011 in Health

Week 2 went off without a hitch.  Each day was the same, a 5 minute warm-up, followed by intervals of 90 second runs and 2 minute walks. Tuesday I went to a park and ran around the maze of parking lots, never did find a path…won’t be heading back there… Thursday evening I took off out of my development, around the corner on the main road, and up Crook St.  I was pretty far when Alison chimed in that I was half way through, and back I went.  Sunday was my day 3, and it was STILL raining, no chance of it letting up.  While I realize that if I sign up for a big race (or a little one for that matter, a commitment is a commitment) that I can’t predict the weather, I am after all at this point only out there for 30 minutes.  Hardly worth getting soaked over.  That being said, I decided to try out my Sauconys on the treadmill.

Vince dropped me off at Splash Zone, and headed to Walmart with Carter to kill the time.  I changed into my exercise attire, and found my machine.  Other than knowing it was a treadmill, I had absolutely no idea what to do.  Good thing they post directions on these beasts.  “To begin, press any button”.  Easy enough… “Enter your age”…”your weight” (aaaacckkkkk)…”Select a program”.  OK, now I’m lost.  But I decided to not spend anymore time on this task, and there were only 2 other people in the room with me.  One was an older gentleman who, if he could hear me, would most likely make me feel inadequate.  The other, the kind of girl NONE of us want to be at the gym with.  Yeah, her, the one who applies make-up, and wears jewelry, and could at any point during her work-out pose for a Playboy centerfold layout.  Nope, not asking her.  So, I hit “START”, and upped my pace to 12.2/mi, my average per my c25k app.  At this point, I realize that at each interval change, I’m gonna have switch the pace on the machine. That didn’t make me like treadmill running very much.  But, the alternative of running in the cold and rain wasn’t very appealing, either.  I suppose once I can run for 30 minutes at a shot, it won’t irk me quite as much.  I just thought the belt would speed up and slow down as I did.  Ah, well…. All in all, it wasn’t too bad.  I completed the workout, with no problems.  In fact, it was kind of nice to have the cushion under my feet.  I do, however, hope I can get back out on the road this week 🙂

This Sunday, May 22, I am going to participate in a 5K.  It is a benefit for Habitat for Humanity.  I’m hoping to complete it using my Week 3 intervals of jogging for 3 minutes, walking for 90 seconds.  That should allow me to complete it in approximately 45 minutes.  I think.  Who cares?  I think I’ll have a couple of good friends with me, have to check and make sure they’re still in.

Last week’s results:

W2D1 on 5/10/11      1.8 total miles, walk pace 17.41/mi, run pace 12.05/mi, 438 calories

W2D2 on 5/12/11      1.8 total miles, walk pace 18.13/mi, run pace 11.53/mi, 375 calories

W2D3 on 5/15/11      1.7 total miles, walk pace 18.5/mi, run pace 12.2/mi, 510 calories (not sure about that)

Comments
  1. Laura says:

    Way to go Shannon. I was lucky or unlucky depending on how you look at it that I didn’t have access to a treadmill (too cheap;-)) So ran outside almost the whole time. I’m also treadmill handicapped I used one twice when we were on vacation at a hotel. Thank goodness nobody else was in the workout room at the time beacuse I had no clue what I was doing at all. I’ve heard from others that trained on the treadmill and then moved outside that your first few times outside might be much more difficult then being on the treadmill just to warn you. You are doing great!!! Good luck with the 5K I was hoping to do one end of this month but can’t 😦 hoping med issues will be solved quickly and can get back on track again. What is your goal date for your half;-) Doesn’t it feel great to say you ran for 3 minutes straight!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

