Runners, take your mark!

Posted: May 24, 2011 in Health

I heard it with my own ears for the first time this Sunday.  I participated in a 5k  benefit run for the local chapter of Habitat for Humanity.  $20 got me a walk up entry and my first run tee shirt!!   The race stepped off at the Days Dam area, and went along the Bridgeway Trail.  As I reference the website, I see that there were only 27 participants.  A fellow runner said this was an extremely low attendance for similar events.  I will be able to compare soon, I hope.

I arrived at the registration desk an hour before the start of the race, with my eyes on the sky, which had just stopped precipitating…  It was a long wait, and I observed and mimicked some of the others’ stretches and warm-up routines.  A few people were chatty, but most kept to themselves.  The ladies at the registration desk explained that we would start right at the arch, and follow the trail to the bridge, at which point we would turn around and trace back.  There was a gentleman stationed there who would give us our halfway point time.

“Runners, take your mark!” Ok, here I go… “GO!!!”  And, I was off.   I didn’t have my phone with me, which means I was sans Alison.  I figured I would run till I needed to walk, and return to it when I felt I could.  I think my first running interval lasted 5-6 minutes, and my second nearly the same.  After that, I do believe 3 minutes would be a stretch.  Along the way, several casual walkers were there to cheer us on. “Way to go”, they said.  “Great job!”.  Even some of the participants who were on their return stretch were  quick to shout out, “Good work!”.  When I reached the bridge, the man shouted out, “You’re doing awesome, mid point time of 21:10!”  Doing the math in my head, I was ecstatic at the thought of a possible 40 minute time.  Not probable, but possible.  The running community seems to be made up of motivated motivators.  They’ve all been where I am, whether last year, or 20 years ago.  Everybody started at some point, and they don’t seem to forget it.  I’ve read about the adrenaline, the “rush”  you feel when you near the finish line.  I was a non-believer, until Sunday.  The last quarter mile or so was a pretty steep incline, and I could not run it.  But as soon as I neared the top, and got the finish line in my sights, there it was.  A feeling came over me like a hadn’t run a single step, and I had all the energy in the world.  There was a small crowd, and everyone was hooping and hollering.  I ran through with my arms up, and a smile that could have spanned Lake Erie.  My first completed race!

My official time was posted on their website today, a 45:56.  That’s an average of 15 minutes/mile.  Seeing as I have been averaging 12 minute miles on run pace, I was pleased.  The fastest woman’s speed was 26:34.  She’s been running since high school, and appeared to be in her 50’s.  I wasn’t in last place, either.  I know someone has to be, but I am glad it wasn’t me.  My goal for the next race is to run more, walk less.  Not gonna lie, under 40 minutes would be nice, but just doing better is good enough.

I still haven’t completed Week 3 of c25k.  I need to run tomorrow, I just haven’t decided if I’m going to do Day 3, and start Week 4 later this week, or repeat Week 3 all together…

W3D1 – 1.8 total miles, run pace of 11.56/mi, walk pace of 17.35/mi, calories burned 425

W3D2 – 1.7 total miles, run pace of 12.30/mi, walk pace of 18.53/mi, calories burned 455

5k – 3.1 total miles, total time 45.56 (ave 14.70/mi)

Very pleased, and excited to progress.

Leave a Reply

