Realizing my progress

Posted: June 22, 2011 in Health

I did something the other day that took me by surprise.  I took off running, chasing a toddler (playing).  I don’t ever recall even doing that with my own kid.  I don’t know if I never had the desire, or if I did, and just suppressed it because I didn’t have the energy.  But it was fun, and when i caught up with him, I rolled down a hill.  Don’t think I’ve ever done that either.  Just a couple of little things that make life happy.  I wonder how many other fun things I’ve missed out on because of my weight.  Oh, I’m still overweight…but it’s coming off.  I weigh myself each Friday.  And while I’m conscious of the number I’m at, I never did the math.  My mother-in-law asked me how much I’ve lost.  So, I figured it out in my head.  In January, when I decided I was going to try and do something, the scale read 248 (shudder).  Last Friday, it said 211.  37 pounds!  That’s about 6 pounds a month.  Not crazy, but certainly not too bad, either.  Proud of me.  I don’t think I have a weight goal.  But I would like to wear a size 10.  This past winter, I was mostly in 20’s, and a couple 18’s.  Two weeks ago I bought a pair of 14 jeans, and they actually were a little baggy in the butt.  Not enough for a 12, but… HOLY COW!!!  So, I guess 160 pounds might be a good goal?  I’m more about the dress size, the scale numbers.

Tomorrow, or maybe Thursday depending on the rain, I will be working the W6D2 c25k workout.  It is the last interval training day of the program.  Last Thursday I did W5D3.  This is the day that everyone warned me about, the one I had myself all worked up about, the one that I nailed.  It was a 5 minute warm-up walk, followed by a 20 minute jog, and then a 5 minute cool-down walk.  It wasn’t pretty, but I did it! W6D1 was back to intervals; 5 minute warm-up walk, jog 5 minutes, walk 3 minutes, jog 8, walk 3, jog 5, and a 5 minute cool-down walk.  W6D2 will be warm-up, jog 10, walk 3, jog 10 cool down.  I will enjoy it.  25 minutes straight on W6D3, W7 is all 25 minutes, W8 is all 28 minutes, and the final week is all 30 minutes.  At the end of week 9, c25k will consider me a graduate.  Hard to believe I’ll be able to do it.  But, back on W1D1, I never thought I’d be able to run longer than 60 seconds.  So, I believe in c25k, and I believe in me!

A goal over the next couple weeks is to start some weight training.  I need to work on these arms…..

Comments
  1. Joy Ferrar says:

    Shannon, you bring tears to my eyes. What an accomplishment!!!! I am so excited for you. And isn’t it great to know that you have been an inspiration to others. Sunday I did W3D2 and all because of you. I really do like this program and hope that I can do as well as you are as I go forward. CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    • shancanrun says:

      Joy, you’re too sweet. Look at you, moving onto week 4 soon! Isn’t it amazing? I tell ya, we are gonna be hot, scrappin mamas! Do you still think you’re gonna make it next Wednesday? I have been looking at his photos online from the first few events. They look kinda small, but the smiles on everyone’s faces are worth a million bucks. I’m bringing a friend from Wellington, and her kids. I think I read that they have a meal following the race? Can’t wait to catch up with you, and you can tell me all about your running!! YOUR RUNNING…. Keep up the awesome work, Joy!!!!

  2. annarnorris says:

    Shannon:

    It was so nice to meet you last night! Congratulations on your journey thus far! I have been there too before getting the complements from family and friends about how great you look from shedding pounds. Its a great sense of pride and accomplishment you feel that keeps you motivated to keep going! I, too, have looked at smaller dress/pant sizes as bigger accomplishments than the number on the scale because you seem to lose more inches quicker than pounds. 🙂

    Good luck on the rest of your c25k program and I hope to see you at the Wellington Cheese Festival race!

Leave a Reply

