Doing Life, doing vacation, and doing me!

Posted: July 13, 2011 in Health

I have not posted in a while, and I’m feeling compelled this evening to get back on track.  Because, while I hope that some of you enjoy reading about my adventures, I need the accountability that this public presence affords me.  If I know there are people out there who are aware of what I’m doing (or realizing what I’m not doing), I’m more inclined to make better choices.

I have mentioned Ben Davis before.  He’s the guy is a large part of my inspiration for running.  I follow his blog on Tumblr, and keep up with him of Facebook.  Ben made a huge life change a few years back regarding diet and exercise, and is an avid runner.  He is a Marathoner, and an Ironman.  Ben Does Life (www.bendoeslife.com).  Ben and his Unofficial Do Life 5K tour made a stop in Cleveland, and I couldn’t wait to meet other people in the area that have been inspired to do something for themselves, others who have found the love of running.  Little did I know that one of those people would be my own father-in-law.  Dale started training with the c25k program the day after I did, after reading my blog post.  He didn’t tell anyone he was training until Sunday before the 5k.  He asked when we were going to run together, and of course I figured he was just messing with me.  So, I said “Anytime.  Come over and I’ll lace ’em up, and we’ll go”  I mentioned the 5k, again in jest.  And then he announced that he was on Week 8!!!!!  What a secret he kept.  But, we’re all so proud of him, and it has to help to have the support of his family and friends.

So, he did come to the 5k.  So did my friend, Joy and her daughter, Kristen.  And my friend Colette along with her two kids, David and Sarah.  David and Carter stayed at the front of the pack the whole time on their scooters 🙂  Colette and Sarah walked the route.  Dale, Joy, Kristen, and myself stayed near the middle the whole time.  Everytime I saw Dale he was running.  I took multiple breaks, not used to the hills that were there.  But, this is no excuse.  Dale trains in a gym, certainly no hills there.  He was amazing!  He ran 30 minutes straight, way more than I can say for myself.  My unofficial time was 40 minutes.  My first 5k was nearly 46.  I was happy with the improvement.  It was great to talk to new people, and find out what inspired them, to hear their stories, and to share the common bond of running.  I am going to run a 5k this coming weekend in Wellington(of which I found out from fellow Do Lifer Anna).  I would like to finish in under 40 minutes.  I will try to run the whole thing, but I’ve said it before… not going to hurt myself.  If it’s too much, a walking I will go.

Carter and Mommy at the ocean!

Carter and I had a mini-vacation over the weekend.  Well, drove Thursday, and drove home Monday.  We went to Myrtle Beach!  We went to celebrate a friend’s 80th birthday.  I packed my running shoes, and truly had every intention on running.  You would not believe the humidity there!!! It was a strain to walk out there, let alone run.  Didn’t even try.  On top of that, it was vacation, so the dietary choices were mostly poor.  Lots of sodium rich foods, which I had worked so hard to avoid.  The only meal I don’t regret indulging in is Sunday evening.  We were invited to the Amigo’s for a home-cooked Cuban feast.  There were so many wonderful choices.  Cuban pork, rice and black beans, mango salad, pineapple/avocado salad, fried plantains, and more!  My taste buds were dancing, it was so delicious!!  However, combined with the rest of the weekends “delicacies”, I came home not feeling very proud of myself.

So this morning I shook it all off.  Got up early and went running.  Turtle’s pace came through for me once again.  I also began tracking my food again.  I haven’t tracked in almost 2 months, and slowly my diet got sloppy.  Back to good decisions today, and it feels good.  I went to Zumba this evening, and realized I’ve been missing that, too.  I would like to be under 200 by my birthday.  So, everyone reading this, that’s September 11th!  This is a very doable goal, and there is a Pandora charm in my future if I meet it!  So, root for me and my bling, everyone!

Comments
  1. annarnorris says:

    I know you can meet your goal by your birthday! You want it bad enough, and it was a good thing you put a non-food reward up for grabs with it. I know too often I find that I’ll reward myself with food instead of some other type of object.

    Don’t beat yourself up too much about indulging a little on vacation. Its vacation from every day life, it’s normal. As long as you get back on the wagon when you get back to real life, you’ll be just fine.

    See you Saturday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

